Oriental Research Institutes are institutions especially devoted to Indological studies. Indology is the science of study of culture in all its aspects. With the disappearance of the Gurukula system and the ancient universities like those at Nalanda and Takshila and also the gradual dissolution of the powerful kingdoms by conquests from outside, it became necessary to evolve a method by which the ancient knowledge and wisdom of the country could be revived and preserved.

It is the Western scholars of the 19th and the 20th centuries who were mainly responsible for this revival, though many scholars also has contributed considerably to it. The work of these institutes consisted chiefly in collecting and collating rare manuscripts in the oriental languages like Prākṛt and Sanskrit dealing with religion, philosophy, literature, grammar, arts and sciences, editing them and publishing them with or without translations and explanatory notes. Where and when such publications are not possible, the manuscripts and other connected materials are preserved by using various modern and scientific devices. A brief account of these institutions is explained in the article further.

List of Institute

  1. Adyar Library and Research Center
  2. Asiatic Society
  3. Bhandarkar Oriental Research Institute
  4. Ganganath Jha Kendriya Sanskrit Vidyapeeth
  5. Kuppuswami Sastri Research Institute
  6. Madras Sanskrit College
  7. Mythic Society
  8. Oriental Institute
  9. Oriental Manuscripts Library
  10. Oriental Research Institute
  11. Oriental Research Institute
  12. Sanskrita Academy
  13. Sanskrita Sahitya Parishat
  14. The Government Sanskrit College
  15. Sarasvati Mahal Library
  16. Vishveshvaranand Vishvabandhu Institute of Sanskrit and Indological Studies



University established or incorporated by or under a central Act, a Provincial Act Or a state Act and includes any such institution as may, in consultation with the university concerned  be recognized by the University Grants Commission(UGC)   in accordance with the regulations made in the regard under UGC Act 1956.

The Main categories of University/University level institution are:

Central University:

A university established or incorporated by a central Act.

State University:

A university established or incorporated by a provincial Act or by a state Act.

Private University:

A university established through a state/Central Act by a sponsoring body.

Sponsoring Body:

    • A society registered under the Societies Registration Act 1860.
    • Any other Corresponding law for time being in force is a state or public trust.
    • A company registered under section 25 of the Companies Act ,1956

Deemed to be University:

  • Commonly known as deemed University.
  • Refers to a high performing Institution.
  • Institution which has been declared by Central government under Section 3 of the university Grants Commission (UGC) Act 1956.

Institution of National Importance.

  • An Institution established by Act of Parliament and declared as Institution of National Importance.

Institution under State Legislature Act:

  • An institution established or incorporated by a state legislature Act.


It is a countrywide network for higher education that will allow students the flexibity

to design their own curriculum and combine subjects of their choice.

  • Students registered at one university cannot attend classes or courses offered at another unless an exchange program exists between them.
  • The meta university would enable a student of astrophysics at the Indian Institute of Science,Banglore, for example to take up a course in comparative literature at Jadavpur University (In Kerala)


  • Provides higher education programs through electronic media (Internet)
  • The Institution (Some) Provide online learning as part of their extended university courses while others solely offer online courses
  • They are regarded as “distance education”
  • Goal/Idea of virtual technology Universities is to provide access data/courses to students who don’t have access to the physical campus attend regular classes and also are in need of flexibility.
  • Seven Indian Institutes of Technology + IIScs (Indian Institute of Science) to set up India’s first home grown virtual technology University.
  • IIT’s –Mumbai, Delhi,Guwahati,Chennai,Kanpur,Kharagpur and Roorkee.

  Next Topic >> Professional, Technical and Skill Based education